In the bright warm sunshine of late August, after a two year break the Rotary Club of Sherborne Castles Historic Vehicle Rally returned to the magnificent Sherborne School Courts on the Bank Holiday Sunday. A very determined and loyal band of over seventy enthusiasts and supporters attended the event in their beautiful vintage and classic vehicles, despite having to contend with numerous road works and closures on their thirty mile road run through Dorset, Somerset and Wiltshire.

Honorary Chairman Brian Chant noted that the HVR Committee was grateful to those entrants for making the event a success once again; of the total raised, £1000 will be donated to the Friends of Yeatman Hospital. This is the 27th year of the event in its current form and during that time, £64000 has been raised for local and Rotary-supported charities.

A special mention should also go to the marvellous Sherborne Town Band, who entertained the public and entrants alike while the judging took place, and to Abbey FM and in particular Ken Horswell, who provided expert commentary throughout the event.


The awards were presented by the Sherborne Town Mayor, Cllr Juliet Pentolfe. The class winners were as follows:

Master Class, the Dorset Vintage and Classic Auctions Trophy: J Ryley, a 1926 Rolls-Royce.

Vintage Class, the Hunts Dairies Cup: P Godwin, 1929 Bugatti.

Post-Vintage Class, the Seymours Cup, and the Most Desired Class, the Tim MacBean Cup: D Richards, 1934 MG PA.

Post-War Class, the Rotary Rose Bowl: R Grix, 1955 Citroen Light 15.

Classic Sixties and Seventies Class, the Terry Dare Cup: R Browning, 1971 Morris Minor Traveller.

Most Original Class, the Brian Chant Salver: I Coomber, 1933 Riley Kestrel.

Best Overall Class, the Westbury Garage Cup: N Fowler, 1948 Lea Francis.

Commercials, the Godden and Curtis Cup: J House, 1933 Austin 10 Van.

Oldest Car on the Road Run, the Gordon Guppy Cup: P Cooper, 1928 Ford Model A Pick-Up.

Most Suitably Dress Occupant, the Pedley and White Cup: D Addey.

For the motorcycles:

Post-War Class, the David Norman Cup: M Weaver, 1957 BSA A10.

Classic Sixties Class, the Furlong Tyres Cup: C Rand, 1969 BSA A65.

Classic Seventies Class, the Hunt’s Frozen Foods Cup: L Pickford, 1974 Honda 750/4.

Most Original Class, the Mike Plummer Cup: J Hull, 1941 BSA War Department M20.

Sidecars and Three Wheelers, the Ken Doyle Cup: S Bowden, 1927 Triumph N De Luxe.

And finally R Jeffrey, with his 1938 Velocette KSS, was the winner of no less than four awards:

Post-Vintage Class, the Hunt’s Cycle Shop Cup; Best Overall Class, the Able Driving School Cup; Most Desired Class, the Norman Brister Cup; Oldest Motorcycle on the Road Run, the Gordon Guppy Cup.


The HVR organising committee are indebted to this year’s event sponsors: Broadpeak Car Storage, Brotherwood, Greenslade Taylor and Hunt, and Hunt’s Food Group.

Next year’s event will be on the 27th of August, please visit for more information.


Image Credit: Vicky Louise Photorgraphy